Later, he told me the story of how he had fallen for me at the bus stop: He saw me looking at him and so he stared back, but I didn’t flinch or blush or look away, I just held his gaze. He made faces, and I stared him down. He gestured for me to come over and join him. I looked at him steadily for a few beats more and then looked away. “You were so cool,” he said, already so disappointed by me. “Why aren’t you like that anymore?” I didn’t tell him the truth: that I was not cool, I was shortsighted and too vain to wear my glasses, so I hadn’t seen him at all or registered any of his faces or gestures – he was just another boy-shaped blur at the bus stop. — Catherine Egan explores the lure of the bad boy in “I Love You and I Want To Kill You; Let’s Make Out.” 
moonbeams-and-ink-stains:

I forgot to share this on my blog!! Check out my author photo, Tumblr friends. And as I said on Twitter: may you hear the Addams Family theme song when you see it. *snap snap*

moonbeams-and-ink-stains:

I forgot to share this on my blog!! Check out my author photo, Tumblr friends. And as I said on Twitter: may you hear the Addams Family theme song when you see it. *snap snap*

Cover Reveal! Check out Kristin Halbrook’s EVERY LAST PROMISE:

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate’s sexual assault. Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn’t supposed to. But she hasn’t told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night—about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer. Now Kayla’s coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything—and everyone—she ever cared about.

Every Last Promise on Amazon
Every Last Promise on IndieBound
Every Last Promise on Goodreads
www.kristinhalbrook.com

Cover Reveal! Check out Kristin Halbrook’s EVERY LAST PROMISE:

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate’s sexual assault. 

Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn’t supposed to. But she hasn’t told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night—about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer. 

Now Kayla’s coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything—and everyone—she ever cared about.

This is where a narrative about girlhood turns into an appeal about how young people need access to books that speak to them, speak to where they come from, who they are, and who they might become. For much of my childhood and into my teen years, I felt neither here nor there. I was untethered: a mix, a mutt. Eventually, I discovered writers who essentially taught me how to be Hispanic. They taught me that being Hispanic is to exist in a matrix, to be by definition a mash-up, and about how identity is fluid, how it can be both bolted to the rock of the past and also a brave thing with wide wings. — “Thoughts About Bordered and Borderless Girls" by Samantha Mabry

firstdraftwithsarahenni:

A few of the books that inspired Beth Revis, author of New York Times best-seller ACROSS THE UNIVERSE series, and THE BODY ELECTRIC, out now!

DEAD MAN’S HAND, edited by John Joseph Adams

HYPERBOLE AND A HALF by Allie Brosh

NIGHT by Elie Weisel

THINGS FALL APART by Chinua Achebe

Sweet Valley High series

The Babysitter’s Club series

The Narnia Series by C.S. Lewis

RUIN AND RISING by Leigh Bardugo

Listen to my full interview with Beth here, or download it on iTunes or Stitcher!

Today we are so pleased to present the gorgeous cover of Lauren Gibaldi’s contemporary debut, THE NIGHT WE SAID YES, coming June 16, 2015 from HarperTeen. 
Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.
Be sure to add it your TBR pile on Goodreads!

Lauren is also giving away a signed ARC of the book, so please make sure to enter the contest!

Today we are so pleased to present the gorgeous cover of Lauren Gibaldi’s contemporary debut, THE NIGHT WE SAID YES, coming June 16, 2015 from HarperTeen.

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

Be sure to add it your TBR pile on Goodreads!

Lauren is also giving away a signed ARC of the book, so please make sure to enter the contest!

Which character in Christina Farley’s GILDED series are you most like?

The difference between Google Street View and being there is in the details, and it’s the details that bring the setting the life. It’s the air—the scent and sounds—in a cathedral. It’s knowing the way the sunrise is washed against the sky in the desert, or how it feels to drive for a long time on a straight road that becomes a wet-textured mirage in the distance. It’s feeling the temperature of morning on my skin, and how by midday all semblance of coolness has faded into dry heat. These are details I want to share with my readers, and details I want other writers to share with me. — Kristin Halbrook discusses the benefits of visiting your book’s setting.